Monday, December 27, 2010

What Is Infolink Advertisement ?

 


Infolinks intelligently scans web pages using its dynamic proprietary algorithm and converts carefully selected keywords into relevant Pay Per Click (PPC) in-text ads. These ads appear as double underlined hyperlinks in the Web content itself. The process of integrating in-text ads into websites is short and simple. The basic integration requires the insertion of one line of Javascript code into the website’s html. (format)
Infolinks in-text ads are seen on thousands of websites and are used by content based web publishers as an effective means to monetize.

Infolinks was established in 2007 and is headquarter in Mountain View, California.

Pay Per Click In Text Advertising Overview

Infolinks presents the next generation of pay per click In Text Advertising, leading the industry with the most relevant contextual advertising links and the highest revenue share - guaranteed.

Quick and easy setup with no changes to your website
Ads are tightly integrated with your content - no additional space required
Free sign up with no commitments or risk

Are you an Online Publisher? Join us now and start linking text to revenue today.

Monetize a network of websites or put ads on your blog? Learn more about the Infolinks advantages.

How do I start earning higher PPC In Text Advertising revenues today?

Just fill out our short online application and complete an effortless integration process.
Infolinks will automatically insert highly relevant contextual ads into your website’s content, ensuring you record high conversion rates and higher advertising revenues.

What is Pay Per Click In Text Advertising?

Pay Per Click In Text advertising inserts text link advertisements within the content of your website, usually in the form of double-underline hyperlinks. Upon a hover of the mouse, a floating informational bubble opens with content from an advertiser. If clicked, the visitor is directed to the advertiser’s landing page and you earn advertising revenue; otherwise, when the mouse is moved away from the hyperlink, the bubble disappears. Learn how to get started with In Text Advertising today.

Why choose In Text Advertising for websites?

User triggered, less intrusive advertising that won’t distract from your site’s content
Highly relevant In Text ads for your site visitors with record high conversion rates
Quick and easy installation with no changes to your website

How do I earn money with Infolinks ads on my site?

Infolinks works on a Pay Per Click Advertising model. Each time your website visitors click on an Infolinks In Text ad, you get paid!

We seek the advertisers, you get the revenue, and we make sure you keep most of it with the industry’s highest revenue share offer. Join us now and start earning Infolinks revenue as soon as today.

What is the special “Infolinks Highest Revenue Share Guarantee”?

As a leading provider of In Text Advertising worldwide, we are so confident that Infolinks will increase your contextual advertising revenues, that we actually guarantee the industry’s highest revenue share in your contract.

I want to start linking text to revenue – where do I start?

We welcome all legitimate websites - big and small - to experience the next generation of Pay Per Click In Text advertising. There are no sign up fees, hidden commitments or qualification minimums.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

8 ways to do keyword research for AdSense pages

1. If you have a Google AdWords account, pretend you are planning to advertise using different keywords, and see how much you'd have to pay. That will give you a good indication of the popularity of the keywords.


Here's how. Follow these steps. In step 2, "Create Ad Group", click on "Calculate Estimates" and "Recalculate Estimates". These show you the maximum you would have to pay per click to advertise for particular keywords or key phrases.


For finding new key phrases, you can use Go to Google's AdWords and find out how much advertisers are willing to pay for the keywords or key phrases you're interested in. Here's how.


Go to https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal and play around with the free Keyword Tool.


For example, try putting in a keyword or phrase, such as "book" and click on "Get More Keywords". Pretend you're willing to pay the maximum per click the tool allows - 100. (You can choose any currency. I chose US.)


Over on the right side of the page, make sure that "Cost and position estimates" is selected.


The tool will calculate for you the estimated average CPC (cost per click) for a whole lot of words and phrases. Try entering a different word, say "debt" or "free", click on "Re-calculate" and watch how the CPC changes.


You DON'T have to choose a topic which has expensive keywords. Often topics that have expensive keywords are very competitive. You may do better choosing a less competitive niche with cheaper keywords.


2. Keywords Analyzer is a superb tool which can generate thousands of key phrases that people are typing into search engines. If you have a Wordtracker account, you can also import data from Wordtracker and analyze it. It shows you, for example, how many advertisers have ad campaigns at AdWords for each phrase. If you're using AdSense, the more advertisers the better!


3. Have a look at the top 100 keywords on 7search. This will give you a quick idea of keywords that people are willing to pay big money for. You can also type phrases into the 7Search Keyword Suggestion Tool. This is just step one of your keyword research. You'll want to dig deeper.


4. At FindWhat pay-per-click search engine you can do a search for any phrase and quickly see how much advertisers are paying per click.


5. You can experiment typing words into Yahoo! Search Marketing's View Bids Tool. Let's say you type in "asbestos cancer". The top three advertisers often pay about $12 per click. So that might be an good choice for a topic - provided you're a specialist on mesothelioma AND provided that your research shows that it's an in-demand topic.


For "debt consolidation", the top two advertisers often pay more than $9 per click.


6. The free Web Marketing Keyword Bid Research Tool speeds up your research at Yahoo! Search Marketing. Type in a keyword and learn how much advertisers are paying per click and also find out how many searches were done on that keyword last month.


However, you need to know that Yahoo! combines singular and plural phrases, and robots are used to check bids. Both of these factors tend to distort the results you'll see. Checking Yahoo! Search Marketing is good for quick, rough research, nothing more.


7. You can use Wordtracker to look for the 1,000 most popular keywords. You can also use it to compile a useful list of keywords relating to one topic. If you buy it for a day or a week, you can do a lot of research in that time. It's the tool the professionals use.


Wordtracker has a free trial, but it's fairly limited. You can subscribe for as little as one day and do an awful lot of keyword research in that time. I have an annual account because I use it so frequently for keyword research.


8. The brainstorming and research tools in Site Build It! are my favorite way to do brainstorming for keywords that are in high demand and low supply. SBI is a superb tool - actually, a suite of tools. It's an all-in-one web hosting, site-building and web marketing tool. Type in a keyword and SBI Manager will present you with dozens of profitable keywords - ones with high demand and low supply. It can present them in order of profitability. Drill down, and you'll get dozens more profitable keywords.


SBI also has an "Analyze It" tool that helps you build keyword-rich pages that rank highly in search engines. It's simply superb. I use it and love it.


Site Build It! is an excellent choice for quickly building large, simple sites designed to rank highly in search engines - which makes it perfect for generating lots of AdSense revenue. Check it out.


QUICK SUMMARY: Build useful, simple sites - one topic per page - using valuable key phrases that are high in demand and low in supply. For researching, building and promoting easy-to-build sites that rank high in search engines, there's one suite of tools that's head and shoulders above all the rest - Site Build It!

You want profitable keywords: earn revenues, low supply,high demand

Keep in mind that some topics attract much higher payouts per click than others.


For example, if your site is about topics such as debt consolidation, web hosting or asbestos-related cancer, you'll earn much more per click than if it's about free things.


On the other hand, if you concentrate only on top-paying keywords, you'll face an awful lot of tough competition.


What you want are keywords that are high in demand and low in supply.


So do some careful keyword research before you build your pages.



How to increase your AdSense earnings

If you hear about people achieving high payments per click with AdSense, remember that's only part of the story. for high total earnings, you also need lots of page views and a high click-through rate.


Here are some ideas on how to achieve those three things:


If you're starting afresh designing a site specifically for AdSense revenue, you'll want a simple design that makes it easy to paste Google's code into a horizontal or vertical space on the site. For experienced webmasters, that's easy.


To increase your click-throughs, design a simple, uncluttered page with the AdSense ads displayed prominently.


Use white space, so that the AdSense panel catches the eye.


Where possible, use ads high on the page. They catch visitors' attention.


Experiment with borderless ads high on the page. (You can create borderless ads by setting the border color to the same as the background color. Look in your AdSense control panel under "Ad settings".)


Try placing AdSense high in the left-hand column. That works well for super affiliate James Martell.


On very simple, one-column pages, making your article wrap around AdSense ads near the top-right of the page works remarkably well for me on a non-Internet marketing site.


Stick to only one topic per page - that makes it easier for Google to serve up highly relevant ads on your pages.


Plain, bland pages with few competing links result in higher click-through rates on the AdSense ads.


If you want to target certain high-priced keywords, use them in the file name, in the heading on the page, and in the first paragraph - in other words, use search engine optimization techniques.


If you change those keywords, Google will change the ads that appear on your page.


If you have trouble getting AdSense to serve relevant pages, check your anchor text - the words used in links on your page. Try changing some of those words.


Watch out for cases where Google has guessed wrong, and is displaying ads that won't interest your visitors. Figure out which words are involved, and rewrite those words. Help Google by sticking closely to the topic.


Don't worry about losing traffic via those clicks. If you can earn maybe 30 or 50 cents or more per click, you WANT to lose visitors!


You'll also want keyword-rich pages, optimized to rank highly in search engines, so you can serve lots of pages.


Try using ads at the top of the page and again at the bottom. At first, this wasn't allowed but AdSense changed the rules and it's now OK.


One of the beautiful things about AdSense is that you can generate revenue from informational sites even if there are no obvious related affiliate programs. With more than 100,000 advertisers, there's a good chance that Google will find ads that match your pages, better than the big ad networks can.


Don't be tempted into trying to create thousands of spammy computer-generated articles. Human beings review sites for AdSense. Build useful, interesting sites. Google likes them.


One way to create articles quickly is use Gary Antosh's approach. He pays people to write articles for him - by the truckload. So far he has bought hundreds of them and paid only $5 per article. See How to buy articles for $5 - the details


Another way is to use works that are copyright-free. Here's a book that describes how to find such articles: The Public Domain: How to Find and Use Copyright-Free Writings, Music, Art & More


However, that technique isn't likely to be useful for long. At the very least, it would be wise to add your own introduction and conclusions to make your pages different from everyone else's.


Several websites now sell packages of articles on a wide variety of topics. I belong to several of these membership sites. It's an excellent way of saving time. It's so much easier to rewrite an article you've bought than do all the research and writing yourself.


These articles are often referred to as PLR articles or private label rights articles because you own the right to alter them in any way you wish. Here are some good sources of PLR articles.


You can use PLR articles to quickly add lots of keyword-rich articles to your site for the search engines to find.


For long-term success, write your own original articles on a topic you're passionate about. That way, you're writing for humans AND search engines.



Serious tracking to maximize AdSense profits

How do you find out which AdSense ads get the highest number of click-throughs? How do you find out which ads are best at generating clicks that pay?


AdSense provides what it calls channels, and you can experiment to find out which pages on your site are generating the most revenue, which colors work best, what ad placement works best, whether you should use borderless ads, etc.


However, if you have a large site, you'll find AdSense tracking via channels is seriously lacking.


AdSense Tracker is a powerful php script that keeps detailed logs of all impressions and clicks on AdSense ads on all your websites without altering the ad code itself. The data can then be used to analyze the effectiveness of your sites, track different ad sizes and styles, or even individual pages.


You can track every click-through so you'll know what your visitors are looking for. This makes it easy for you to build more perfectly targeted, profitable pages.


It can track unlimited domains and pages. It's resource intensive and should be hosted separately.


If you just have a small site you probably don't need it. AdSense Tracker is a tool for professionals.

Affiliate programs versus AdSense earnings

Affiliate programs are often compared by looking at the EPC - earnings per click.


However, if you want to compare affiliate programs commissions with AdSense earnings, a more precise way is to calculate the payout you receive per 1,000 page views (CPM).


Here's how to calculate your CPM:


Let's say you earn $180 in affiliate commissions from 30 thousand (30,000) page views. $180 divided by 30 = $6. You have a CPM of $6. Not very inspiring, but not uncommon.


The AdSense stats display the effective CPM you earn.


Remember, AdSense doesn't have to replace your affiliate commissions. You can earn affiliate commissions AND AdSense commissions from the same page.


If you have a very efficient site with a high conversion rate, AdSense may not be right for you - or perhaps it would be suitable for SOME pages, but not others. Remember, the more choices you give people, the more likely you are to confuse them.


However, if you're creating a large information site, or if you have a site that does not have a brilliant conversion rate, AdSense could prove to be a very profitable addition to your site.


(Strictly speaking, CPM means COST per 1,000 impressions, but the calculation works OK whether you're spending money or earning it.)



Sites using AdSense

Sites using AdSense include large information sites, affiliate-driven sites, forums and blogs.


"Chat" sites are considered not suitable. Some blogs are being rejected, but information-rich blogs are being accepted.




GoogleGuy explains AdSense


GoogleGuy, an anonymous Google employee who contributes to discussions on the WebMasterWorld.com forums, explains how AdSense will help information sites:


"...sites that provide solid content, especially niche sites that don't want to hunt down their own advertisers, should really benefit ... there's a whole universe of people who ... mostly produce informational sites, and the chance to recoup their costs without much effort is nice. I hope AdSense does encourage more diversity and voices on the web, because now smaller sites can work on what they're interested in - the content of their sites - without worrying very much about the costs of self-publishing information."




How to choose sites to block


You'll probably want to block some of the AdSense ads from appearing on your site. As well as blocking rubbishy sites, you may want to block tough competitors.


The ability to block sites is especially important for sites that are not purely affiliate-income driven. For example, if you're selling a service or a product you won't want competitors' ads on your site.


You can find such competitors by doing some searches on Google for key phrases that are important on your site and looking at the AdWords ads that appear.

Why are the wrong AdSense ads being displayed?

Sometimes, Google seems to get it wrong. You create a page and ads you've seen elsewhere and were expecting to see on your page just don't turn up. Instead, you see vaguely relevant or totally irrelevant ads.


Here are four possibilities:


1. Your page isn't perfectly optimized for the keywords. It's very important to get the key phrase in the file name, for example "product-xyz.html", in the title, in the heading, in the first paragraph, in the body, at the end, and put it in the meta tag description, too.


2. Advertisers can choose to advertise just on Google's search engine. They can opt out of advertising on the AdSense content network. Perhaps the advertisers you're interested in have opted out. To check, type a few phrases into Google and try to find some sites that are displaying Google ads and see which ads appear.


3. Advertisers can choose which countries will see their ads. If you're in Canada, for example, you may not see an ad that people in the U.S. will see. To find out where ads are being displayed, download the free Adsense Preview Tool.


4. This is very rare, but weird stuff can happen for no apparent reason. If all else fails, contact AdSense support. I've always found them prompt and helpful.



Will the AdSense ads appear on your page?



Publishers can choose to have their ads displayed only on Google or also on a large network of sites.


Will AdSense ads you see on Google appear your pages? To get an idea, find web pages that have material similar to the content you're planning to create and look at their AdSense ads.


You can also use AdSense's preview tool to see which ads are being displayed to people in different countries.


Beware: If you choose certain topics, Google will not allow you to place AdSense ads on your site and you'll miss out on a very lucrative opportunity.


Such topics include gambling, firearms, ammunition, balisongs, butterfly knives, and brass knuckles; beer or alcohol; tobacco or tobacco-related products; and prescription drugs.


For a full list of topics you may wish to avoid see: https://www.google.com/adsense/policies?hl=en_US



How AdSense matches ads to web pages

Google is doing a good job of finding ads that are highly relevant to the web pages.


Google says:


"We go beyond simple keyword matching to understand the context and content of web pages. Based on an algorithm that includes such factors as keyword analysis, word frequency, font size, and the overall link structure of the web, we know what a page is about, and can precisely match Google ads to each page."


Occasionally Google gets it wrong. It places great importance on the file name. So be sure to use important keywords in the file name of each page, such as "contextual-advertising.html" for an article on contextual advertising.


Also, watch out for your anchor text - the words in the links on your page. We've found that sometimes if irrelevant ads are being served, you can fix the problem by rewriting anchor text.


You can check the relevance of the ads by looking at the text ads near the top-right of this page.

How much can you earn?

Let's say you have a goal of earning $100,000 a year from AdSense. Is that possible?


Let's see ... $100,000 divided by 365 = $274 a day. So your goal is to produce either:


274 pages which earn $1 a day
OR
548 pages which earn 50 cents a day
OR
1096 pages which earn 25 cents a day


The following are hypothetical cases. To earn $1 a day per page, you need, per page...


400 visitors, 5% click-through rate (CTR) and average 5c payout.
Or 200 visitors, 10% CTR and an average 5c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 10% CTR, and an average 10c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 5% CTR, and an average 20c payout.
Or 50 visitors, 10% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 25 visitors, 20% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 20 visitors, 10% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 10 visitors, 20% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 5 visitors, 20% CTR and $1 average payout.


Let's assume you choose a goal somewhere around the middle, say aiming for 50 visitors per page and want 274 pages earning $1 a day. You'd need 274 x 50 = 13,700 pageviews a day.


Does that sound too tough? If so, you'd better look for more profitable keywords and ways to improve your click-through rates.


Let's try a different scenario. You choose more profitable keywords and make your $1 on average per page from, say, 10 visitors. 274 x 10 = 2740 pageviews a day.


That's looking easier to achieve. If your average visitor sees 3 pages, you now need 913 unique visitors a day.


Is that too tough to achieve in your niche? If so, create two sites, each attracting half that number, 456 unique visitors, a day.


Can't achieve those click-through rates and payouts? Then you'll either need more pages on your sites on more niche sites.


Some affiliates have a goal of writing one article a day and building one site a month.


Need a little more help reaching that $100,000 goal? Add affiliate commissions into the equation. Add a newsletter for repeat sales.


Choose the goal which best matches your site or sites.


Then start building keyword-rich pages containing well researched, profitable keywords, and get lots of high quality links to your site.


Please note, because of the AdSense rules, these are all hypothetical cases. I'm not allowed to give real cases. Real CTR rates and payouts vary hugely.




It's fast


Google usually approves web sites in less than a day.


After your site is approved, within a few hours a special Google spider will spider your site. Then it's time to paste the code into your site and the text ads will appear.


You can choose between either horizontal or skyscraper AdSense ads.



Experiences with AdSense



The payment you receive per click depends on how much advertisers are paying per click to advertise using Google's AdWords service. Advertisers can pay as little as 5 cents per click and as high as $10 or $12 in profitable niches, perhaps even more sometimes. You earn a share of that.


So your payment rates can vary enormously.


The rules forbid me from revealing my stats. However, in the tests I'm doing on five sites, the results have been startling - far better than I expected. The results are much better than I receive from many affiliate programs.


In the past, I've talked to affiliates who were happy to receive $5 or $6 CPM (per 1,000 page views). My results from AdSense leave such affiliate revenues far behind.


I've increased my use of AdSense. It's a winner!


If my results are typical, it helps enormously if you build very simple, uncluttered pages so that the ads catch the visitor's eye more than anything else.

How to boost your AdSense revenue

AdSense often easier than affiliate programs
Google's AdSense is a superb revenue generating opportunity for small, medium and large web sites.
Some webmasters are designing brand new sites specifically for serving AdSense text ads. (It's against the AdSense rules to design a site purely for AdSense, so you'll want to include a few affiliate links or sell your own product, too.)
Here's the background info:
AdSense overview
AdSense FAQ
AdSense tech FAQ
AdSense policies
AdSense allows you to serve text-based Google AdWords on your web site and receive a share of the pay-per-click payment. AdSense ads are similar to the AdWords ads you see on the right-hand side at Google when you do a search there.
AdSense is having a huge impact on the affiliate marketing industry. It's often much easier to generate revenue from AdSense than from an affiliate program.
Weak affiliate merchants will die faster than ever.
If you're a merchant running a lousy affiliate program, now's the time to improve it FAST.

AdSense's advantages
AdSense is simple to join.
It's easy to paste a bit of code into your pages.
It's free to join.
You don't have to spend time finding advertisers.
Google provides well written, highly relevant ads - chosen to closely match the content on your pages.
You don't have to waste time choosing different ads for different pages.
You don't have to mess around with different code for various affiliate programs.
You're free to concentrate on providing good content and Google does the work of finding the best ads for your pages from 100,000 AdWords advertisers.
It's suitable for beginners or marketing veterans.
AdSense provides simple, easy-to-understand stats.
If you have affiliate links on your site, you ARE allowed to add AdSense ads. However, with your affiliate links, you must not mimic the look and feel of the Google ads.
You can filter up to 200 URLs, so you can block ads for sites that don't meet your standards. You can also block strong competitors.
Inevitably, AdSense is competing strongly for space on web sites with all other revenue sharing opportunities.
If you own a small web site you can plug a bit of AdSense code into your site and almost instantly relevant text ads that are likely to appeal to your visitors will appear on your pages.
If you own several sites, you need apply only once. This makes AdSense much simpler than joining a bunch of affiliate programs.
As you can see, I'm really keen on this revenue sharing service.

Disadvantages
One problem is inappropriate ads. You don't want spammy junk advertised on your site. Google's standards probably aren't as high as yours. You can filter out 200 URLs, but in some industries that won't be enough.
The stats Google supplies are inadequate. They're easy to understand at a glance. However, they don't tell you exactly which ads people are clicking on, or which keywords are involved. That's frustrating.
Also, I'd like to be able to identify and block ads that have very low payout rates, without doing a lot of sleuthing and messing around.
The ad panels say "Ads by Google" - free advertising for Google. You don't earn anything if someone clicks on that link.
The minimum payout is $100, which is regarded as too high by sites which don't receive much traffic. That won't worry experienced webmasters.
Also, sites that want to display AdSense ads may not include "other content-targeted and/or text-based ads on the pages displaying AdWords ads." However, human beings review the sites. Rejected sites have been able to appeal successfully.
Another disadvantage is that Google doesn't allow you to share your stats with other webmasters. The AdSense Terms and Conditions say:
"Confidentiality. You agree not to disclose Google Confidential Information without Google's prior written consent. 'Google Confidential Information' includes without limitation: ... (b) click-through rates or other statistics relating to Site performance in the Program provided to you by Google..."
That's really weird. Web site owners need to be able to share such information and discuss successes and failures.
A big disadvantage of the service is that Google doesn't say how much its AdSense partners will receive. You'll just receive an unknown share of the revenue.
Only a company with the goodwill and respect Google has earned could get away with such a cheeky offer.
Google says:
"How much will I earn through this program? The AdWords ads you are able to display on your content pages are cost-per-click (CPC) ads. This means that advertisers pay only when users click on ads. You'll receive a portion of the amount paid for clicks on AdWords ads on your website. Although we don't disclose the exact revenue share, our goal is to enable publishers to make as much or more than they could with other advertising networks."
So the only way to know how much you'll earn is to try it and see. If you want to bail out, all you have to do is remove the code from your site.
Don't put all your eggs in the AdSense basket. If Google discovers fraudulent clicks on ads appearing on your pages, it can dump your site from the service, and refuse to pay you all revenue owed. Some webmasters who claim total innocence have had this happen to them.
Google has made several changes to its AdSense FAQ, clarifying varying things. For example, it IS possible to apply for separate accounts for separate web sites. I've done so, and checked with Google that it's OK in my case. Read the rules - they look ambiguous to me. If in doubt, ask first!
Some time after the launch of AdSense, Google added "channels" which improve the tracking. I strongly recommend that you experiment with these.
Sites with "excessive advertising" are being rejected.
PLEASE read the rules and FAQ. When I looked, some advice in the rules contradicted advice in the FAQ. If in any doubt, ask their support staff. They're very helpful.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Adsense Misc

How much do Adsense Publishers Earns from Adsense?

After I published the post “The Adsense Revenue Share” I received plenty of emails asking exactly how much Google is earning and how much are Adsense Publishers earning.
If you are running Google AdSense in all its flavors (for content, for search, for feeds, for mobile), you might have wondered how much money Google is earning from it?
Google reports that for AdSense for Content, it gets 32% which covers for Google’s costs for its continued investment in AdSense. That means, all AdSense publishers earns 68% of ad revenue being paid by advertisers through Adwords to Google, which in turn serves those ads to our sites.
Google’s earnings is also used to payoff the cost that Google incur in building products and features that enables AdWords advertisers to serve ads on our sites. And guess what, this deal has been going on since the launch of AdSense in 2003.
As for AdSense for Search, if you’re running Google’s Custom Search Engine on your sites, the revenue share is 51% for you and 49% for Google. This has been the revenue sharing scheme since 2005 when Google AdSense for Search was launched.
Here is an example of how the split works in actual dollar amounts:
For Each $100 of your earnings in Adsense for Content, Google’s Share made $47.05 thus the total spend by the advertiser was $147.05.
For Each $100 of your earnings in Adsense for Search, Google’s Share made $96.08 thus the total spend by the advertiser was $196.08.
Here are the formulas to calculate Google’s Cut and Advertiser’s spend:
Adsense for Content:
Google’s Cut = Your Earnings x 8 / 17
Advertiser’s Spend = Your Earnings x 25 / 17
Adsense for Search:
Google’s Cut = Your Earnings x 49 / 51
Advertiser’s Spend = Your Earnings x 100 / 51

Adsense for Mobile Supports other Ad Networks

Google recently announced that it has just made it possible for Adsense publishers who are participating in their AdSense for Mobile applications to use third-party mediators. This means that if you’re running AdSense for Mobile on your website or blog, you can now use multiple ad networks simultaneously allowing you to reach a greater pool of advertisers. This will also help you focus more time on building your applications and content rather than on managing your ad inventory.
To use mediators, your mobile apps must fulfill the following conditions stipulated by Google:
  • Using the latest version of the AdSense for Mobile Applications SDK.
  • Abiding by the AdSense for mobile applications terms and program policies.
  • Agreeing to Google’s privacy policy.
Google hopes that this will bring in more revenues for AdSense publishers even if they use other third-party ad networks.

The Adsense Revenue Share

In the spirit of greater transparency with AdSense publishers, Google is sharing the revenue shares for our two main AdSense products — AdSense for content and AdSense for search.
As you may already know, AdSense is comprised of several products. The most popular are AdSense for content, which allows publishers to generate revenue from ads placed alongside web content, and AdSense for search, which allows publishers to place a custom Google search engine on their site and generate revenue from ads shown next to search results. Since AdSense for content and AdSense for search offer publishers different services, the revenue shared with publishers differs for each of these products.
AdSense for content publishers, who make up the vast majority of our AdSense publishers, earn a 68% revenue share worldwide. This means we pay 68% of the revenue that we collect from advertisers for AdSense for content ads that appear on your sites. The remaining portion that we keep reflects Google’s costs for our continued investment in AdSense — including the development of new technologies, products and features that help maximize the earnings you generate from these ads. It also reflects the costs we incur in building products and features that enable our AdWords advertisers to serve ads on our AdSense partner sites. Since launching AdSense for content in 2003, this revenue share has never changed.
We pay our AdSense for search partners a 51% revenue share, worldwide, for the search ads that appear through their implementations. As with AdSense for content, the proportion of revenue that we keep reflects our costs, including the significant expense, research and development involved in building and enhancing our core search and AdWords technologies. The AdSense for search revenue share has remained the same since 2005, when we increased it.
We also offer additional AdSense products including AdSense for mobile applications, AdSense for feeds, and AdSense for games. We aren’t disclosing the revenue shares for these products at this time because they’re quickly evolving, and we’re still learning about the costs associated with supporting them. Revenue shares for these products can vary from product to product since our costs in building and maintaining these products can vary significantly. Additionally, the revenue shares for AdSense for content and AdSense for search also can vary for major online publishers with whom we negotiate individual contracts.
Of course, we can’t guarantee that the revenue share will never change (our costs may change significantly, for example), but we don’t have any current plans to do so for any AdSense product. Over the next few months we’ll begin showing the revenue shares for AdSense for content and AdSense for search right in the AdSense interface.
We hope this additional transparency helps you gain more insight into your business partnership with Google. We believe our revenue share is very competitive, and the vast number of advertisers who compete to appear on AdSense sites helps to ensure that you’re earning the most from every ad impression. Additionally, when considering different monetization options, we encourage you to focus on the total revenue generated from your site, rather than just revenue share, which can be misleading. For example, you would receive $68 with AdSense for content for $100 worth of advertising that appeared on your site. If another ad network offers an 80% revenue share, but is only able to collect $50 from ads served on your site, you would earn $40. In this case, a higher revenue share wouldn’t make up for the lower revenue yield of the other ad network.
We’re continually working on helping you improve the returns from your site while giving you more control and insight into AdSense. For example, we continue to improve our technology so that we can deliver even better matched ads and attract even more advertisers to your websites. Additionally, we recently began providing more granular ways to find and review the ads on your site, as well as the ability to filter more ads by category. We’re also focused on finding other ways to make AdSense better for you. As you may remember, last December, we asked for your ideas and feedback on how we can make AdSense better. We received more than 600 suggestions and 35,000 votes, and we’ve been reviewing them all.
Keep an eye on this blog for updates about the new features we’re building to help you maximize your advertising revenues.
By Neal Mohan, Vice President, Product Management

Number Of Adsense Units: Optimization

The Adsense TOS stipulate that you are allowed to include 3 regular ad units and 1 link unit per page. The number you should use per page will completely depend on the structure and design of your website or blog.
What you don’t want is a webpage that appears like a collection of Adsense Ads. Such a site is worthless and you will struggle to get any traffic unless you enter the world of spamming or decide to pay for web traffic – both offer only diminishing returns. For a visitor to enter your website or blog and click on your ad means that they must want to go forward from your website to another website. If your page is of no use to them, they will hit the back button and return to the search engine that they came from to find another site that will answer their query more effectively and effectively.
Entice your visitors into your site and then cleverly place ads at points where they will be focusing and be relevant for your visitors.
So how many is not too many? As a general rule I’d start with more ad units than less, set up channels so you can monitor how each performs and then make changes accordingly. If you’re building your website from scratch try and build it with enough flexibility to allow you to test different variations.
  1. A more aggressive tactic is to include two large rectangles together either side by side or on top of each other. If you’re getting a fair amount of traffic this will really improve your CTR and is worth trying. Just keep an eye on your web stats to check it doesn’t undermine your visitor’s experience which will be highlighted to you through a decreasing traffic rate.
  2. The large rectangle inside the content and a skyscraper (preferrably the 160 x 600) in your left navigation. The right navigation converts much lower.
  3. A large rectangle towards the top of your content and another at the bottom. This gives your traffic two ways out from inside the same page.
Three Units – If you can fit three in you can now mix and match, for example:
  1. Two rectangles inside the content and one skyscraper in the navigation.
  2. One rectangle inside the content and if you have a right and left navigation, one skyscraper in each of these (I know of websites this has worked well on)
  3. One rectangle inside the content, one skyscraper in your navigation and one leaderboard at the header of your page.
  4. Three rectangles inside the content – this can work very well if you have a lot going on inside the page and it is long enough to absorb the three ads allowing them to be placed far enough away from each other.
Including an Adlink Unit
Your one Adlink unit can virtually always be included as they can slot in to the smallest of places. Many publishers still neglect Adlinks as they have wrongly convinced themselves that the requirement to click on a keyword phrase before they can click on an ad is requiring too much from a visitor.

How To Monetize A Website With Adsense

Once you have a website and you have some visitors coming to your website you need to start making money from website and the service you are providing. There are a number of options, how to generate income from your website, but for the purpose of this article we will only discuss Google Adsense. Google Adsense is far the most versatile advertising program for webmaster (adsense publishers) on the internet. It is easy to use, easy to implement, and it has the broadest appeal in its application.  

The key to getting the most out of Adsense on a website or blog that is already up and running revolves around three things:
1. Integrating Adsense Ad units properly into the structure of your pages on your website or blog.
2. Optimizing the ads for your current traffic through testing and monitoring.
3. Bringing more traffic to your now optimized pages on your website or blog.
How you integrate Adsense into your website or blog is the single largest determining factor of your websites potential for generating income. With that in mind, there are 2 common mistakes made by adsense publishers:
1. Chase clicks instead on focusing on creating valuable content. Pushing ads at every visitor might force a higher click through rate for a time but if you undermine your websites value it will eventually fall from grace.
2. Don’t built a website around a specific topic that they are genuinely interested in and actually know about with unique content (at the worst buy a made for Adsense website on ebay for 0.99$), which offers value added information to your target market.
Although, Google Adsense is perhaps the easiest way to attract advertisers from across the globe to your blog or website, concentrating on clicks rather than your website will either cause its demise or prevents your website or blog from fully capitalize your Adsense potential and limits your earnings.

Strictly Adsense- Follow the Rules

1. Strictly follow the Terms of Service Google Adsense. You will always earn more revenue from Adsense by playing it clean and ensure your account will not be blocked or banned.
2. Never modify the Google Adsense HTML code! If have problems embedding Adsense code in your WordPress or Blogger template, take help of the Adsense support forums or send an email to your Adsense account manager.
3. Never ask your friends or visitors to click on your Google ads. Google takes click fraud very seriously!! Do not include incentives of any kind on your site for users to click on your ads. Don’t label Google ads with text other than “sponsored links” or “advertisements”.
4. Don’t click on your own ads! Google is much smarter than you think and can discover invalid clicks through IP addresses, site navigation patterns, etc. If you working on a new design for your site, avoid reloading your pages (with Adsense) excessively. You can turn off AdSense temporarily and avoid invalid CPM impressions. Or you can use the unofficial Google Adsense Sandbox Tool that is accessible from Firefox, IE and other browsers to see what kind of Google ads will be served based on content (website address URL) or keywords.
5. Don’t place ads in pop-up windows. With the new AdSense policy change, you can probably place ads on 404 pages. Check with the AdSense support team.
6. Don’t start a “adsense asbestos” or “home equity loan rates” website merely to make money from accidental clicks. You will never make money out these Made for Adsense websites. Instead, write on topics what you are passionate about. Don’t waste your money on high-paying adsense keywords lists.
7. Stay away from AdSense Adwords arbitrage.
8. Don’t places images next to Google ads as that will invite a permanent ban to your AdSense account.

What is section targeting and how do I implement it?

To implement section targeting, you’ll need to add a set of special HTML comment tags to your code. These tags will mark the beginning and end of whichever section(s) you’d like to emphasize or de-emphasize for ad targeting.
The HTML tags to emphasize a page section take the following format:
<!– google_ad_section_start –>
<!– google_ad_section_end –>
You can also designate sections you’d like to have ignored by adding a (weight=ignore) to the starting tag:
<!– google_ad_section_start(weight=ignore) –>
With these tags added to your HTML code, your final code may look like the following:
<!– google_ad_section_start –>
This is the text of your webpage. Most of your content resides here.
<!– google_ad_section_end –>
You can use section targeting to make suggestions about as many sections of a page as you like. However, please be aware that we can’t guarantee results, and that it may take up to 2 weeks before our crawlers take into account any changes you’ve made to your site.
In order to properly implement this feature, you’ll need to include a significant amount of content within the section targeting tags. Including insufficient content may result in less relevant ads or PSAs. In addition, please keep in mind that this feature should only be used to emphasize significant sections of your site’s relevant content

Position, Position, Position- Improve Your CTR

Position is the fundamental factor that will effect an Ads performance – its click through rate or CTR. The first reason for this is simple – a visitor cannot click on an ad that they cannot see.
Another reason is that your visitors will interact with your webpage and consequently your ads in the way that you want them to interact with them. This is obviously a generalization as not everyone will interpret your layout in the same way but the principle is sound.
For example, I generally don’t place ads at the head of the page above your content and navigation nor at the very bottom below both of these. These postions are too reminiscent of the traditional banner advertisement and for me don’t come close to taking advantage of what Adsense ads actually offer.
Think from the perspective of Adwords advertisers who are renting space on your blog or website with the hope of getting prospective customers. Why would they be willing to invest in your site (by buying ads) when they are not getting the expected returns? If you want advertisers to bid on your site, it is advisable that you place ads at the best positions in your blog or website else don’t use Adsene at all.
The bottom line is that Adsense works best when the ads are integrated into your website as additional content in particular in posts. Adsense generates ads that are related to the actual words in the content of your page. To perform at it’s best they have to be placed next to these words.
For short articles or posts, CTR is best when ads are placed just above the content. On the other hand, for long articles, CTR will improve if you place ads somewhere in middle of the content or just where the article or posts ends – when visitors are done reading the article, they may be looking for related resources.
This one is a very simple change and is ridiculously straight forward to implement.  To wrap text around an adsense ad unit, you may use the following code:
<div style=”display:block;float:right;margin:7px;”>
<script><!–
google_ad_client = “pub-3305756291402466″;
/* 300×250, Erstellt 28.05.10 */
google_ad_slot = “6227890741″;
google_ad_width = 300;
google_ad_height = 250;
//–>
</script>
<script
src=”http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js”>
</script>
</div>
To insert the code in your post, switch to html and insert code into post. Customise code by replacing direction (.i.e. wrap text left or right) and choose adsense ad unit.
Make sure that the ad unit with the highest clickthrough rate is the first instance of the ad code that appears in your HTML source. Since the first ad unit is always filled before the rest, you want to make sure that ad unit is located in the best placement on your page

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